Foundation: Starting the School Year off Right

Last  week, we talked about the new school year sneaking  up on us. Setting a strong foundation is pivotal in the first few weeks of school. It is a time where your students are learning you, and you are learning them. Here at Quantum Learning, we start our teacher training’s with a system we believe  makes great teachers greater.  Our acronym FAD²E (the core of our methodology), stands for:

  • Foundation
  • Atmosphere
  • Design and Delivery
  • Environment

Each one of these points is a pivotal role for teachers, and how to create the best situation in their classroom.  Foundation needs to be strong if you want any other aspects of the model to work as well. Like anything all parts of this system need to be working at top notch.

In effective classrooms, a strong Foundation creates an aligned community of learners through a shared vision, intentions, values and principles and clear expectations. These are not just posted on a wall. They are taught, discussed, modeled, and consistently reinforced. For example, the educational vision and values of the school are understood and shared by everyone and are made relevant in the classroom by the teacher. There is a clear understanding regarding expected behavior, quality of work, interactions, and daily procedures. These FOUNDATIONAL elements are communicated clearly and reinforced each day.

To get started on your search of what foundation you want your classroom to be set on, you can take a personal activity we have set up on our site here.  Sometimes just taking a step back can help us see something we normally wouldn’t have.

Once you have set up your own clear idea of foundation, it is then time to deliver the information to your classroom. What expectations do you have for your students? What is the correct way to turn in their homework? All of these things need to be told in a clear way at the beginning of the year. Once you set your foundation, your students will understand you better, and know what you expect from them. Besides the great personal activity, we also have three short lesson plans to help set up foundation in your classroom.

How do you set a good foundation in your classroom? Let us know in the comments below.

Image Credit: Riverstone International School

, , ,

  1. #1 by Continued on January 27, 2013 - 6:36 pm

    I’m not sure why but this blog is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  2. #2 by increase stamina in bed on April 10, 2013 - 11:37 pm

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.

    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

  3. #3 by pure green coffee bean capsules benefits on April 13, 2013 - 7:39 pm

    My spouse and I stumbled over here by a different page and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to looking at your web page repeatedly.

  4. #4 by Lemuel on April 15, 2013 - 12:27 am

    Hello, I think your website might be having browser compatibility
    issues. When I look at your website in Chrome,
    it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has
    some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, very good blog!

  5. #5 by pretty little liars books list on April 15, 2013 - 1:14 am

    Hello there I am so excited I found your web site, I really found you by mistake, while I
    was searching on Digg for something else, Regardless I
    am here now and would just like to say thank you for a incredible post and a all round interesting blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

  6. #6 by new girl episodes online free iphone on April 15, 2013 - 1:21 am

    This website was… how do you say it? Relevant!
    ! Finally I have found something which helped me.
    Thanks!

  7. #7 by Wilbur on April 15, 2013 - 1:44 am

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs
    really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back down the road. Many thanks

  8. #8 by Clarice on April 15, 2013 - 5:30 pm

    In fact no matter if someone doesn’t know after that its up to other visitors that they will assist, so here it takes place.

  9. #9 by elite email marketing academy on April 19, 2013 - 2:41 pm

    Thank you a lot for sharing this with all people
    you actually realize what you are speaking about!
    Bookmarked. Please also consult with my website =). We could
    have a link trade arrangement between us

  10. #10 by Ola on April 20, 2013 - 7:37 am

    Hola! I’ve been reading your site for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Kingwood Tx! Just wanted to mention keep up the good work!

  11. #11 by fast and furious 6 on April 21, 2013 - 11:45 pm

    We are a group of volunteers and opening a
    new scheme in our community. Your site provided us with valuable
    information to work on. You have done an impressive job and our entire community will be grateful to
    you.

  12. #12 by Luella on April 22, 2013 - 12:03 am

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is required to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog
    like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% certain. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

  13. #13 by viral optins reviews on April 29, 2013 - 2:10 am

    Hello colleagues, fastidious paragraph and good urging commented here, I
    am genuinely enjoying by these.

  14. #14 by fast n furious 6 on April 29, 2013 - 4:48 pm

    I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I’m quite sure I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  15. #15 by www.the fast and the furious.com on April 30, 2013 - 7:44 am

    I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining,
    and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is an issue that too few people are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy I stumbled across this in my hunt for something regarding this.

  16. #16 by green coffee bean reviews on May 11, 2013 - 10:12 am

    Ahaa, its nice discussion about this piece of writing here at this weblog, I have read all that, so now me also commenting here.

  17. #17 by Lakesha on June 7, 2013 - 6:27 am

    “Foundation: Starting the School Year off Right | QL Professional Learning Community”
    ended up being a splendid post, can’t help but wait to look over more of ur blog
    posts. Time to squander a little time online hehe.
    Many thanks -Renee

  18. #18 by Mitchell on July 2, 2013 - 5:41 pm

    Your entire posting, “Foundation: Starting the School Year off Right | QL Professional Learning Community” ended up
    being truly worth writing a comment here! Merely desired to admit u
    did a tremendous work. I appreciate it ,Mahalia

  19. #19 by Outdoor Kitchens Colorado Springs on January 16, 2014 - 7:44 pm

    Do you dream of having a beautiful outdoor environment that
    compliments your luxury home. s important to include
    enough space for both food preparation and serving. If you want to enjoy
    your outside area more you should consider investing in french doors.

  20. #20 by Noemi on January 21, 2014 - 8:56 am

    Remember that an powerful and almost natural lip plumper can really alter the way you
    come to feel about oneself and how others feel about you.
    Bright reds, fuchsias, pinks and pastel shades will make your
    lips look bigger. And more importantly, the effect takes place instantly.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

