Notes From the Field: Cypress-Fairbanks School District

Here are a few highlights from our 3 day adventure with Cypress
Fairbanks.  We had such a great time with everyone, and especially the
students.

–         Liesl Pykles

Things students shared from their journal entries:

“I learned that ‘test’ is not a bad word.  Just say, ‘C’mon, gimme that test!‘”

“I have learned that I don’t need to fight any more.”

Things students created during the polygon story:

“We are planning a 6-day vacation that is going to cost $600 to Hexico” for
hexagon.

One group had a student named Hector in it.  They said, “Hector’s gone!” six
times for hexagon.

Another group had three people riding tricycles with triangle wheels for
triangle.

Rhymes/raps students created for Multiplication Mania:

“4 times 6, 24 girls do the splits” and then they do the splits for the
motion.

“3 times 3, 9 monkeys in the tree” and then they act like monkeys.

“4 times 8, Shaq is great” and then they dunk a basketball.  Although this
does not have the answer of 32 in it, it worked for this group because they
were huge basketball fans that already knew that Shaq wears the number 32 on
his jersey.

Observations during the Above the Line piece:

One girl mentioned to her group that, “people wont get as mad at you if you
are living above the line.”

Another group was asked to stand if they were willing to live above the line
and were willing to give others permission to call them out if they are not.
Everyone in the room was standing.

Things students said in the last session, “Stepping Out”:

“My name is _____.  One thing I value in my life is all the teachers in TX.
I will show this by being the student they never thought I could be.
Today
I take a stand for my greatness.”

From a student who sat in the back row with his arms crossed for the first 2
days. “My name is _____.  One thing I value in my life is everything I
learned at Super Math Camp.  I will show this by using it to be a better
student.
Today I take a stand for my greatness.”

“My name is _____.  One thing I value in my life is my brothers and sisters.
I will show this by not putting my friends first, in front of my family.

Today I take a stand for my greatness.”

“My name is _____.  One thing I value in my life is living above the line.
I will show this by not lying anymore
.  Today I take a stand for my
greatness.”

From a young lady who struggles with her body image. “My name is _____.  One
thing I value in my life is having self confidence.  I will show this by
believing in myself and knowing I can do it.
Today I take a stand for my
greatness.”

“My name is _____.  One thing I value in my life is my future career.  I
will show this by staying in school and giving it my all.
Today I take a
stand for my greatness.”

“My name is _____.  One thing I value in my life is fear.  I will show this
by facing my fears head on.
Today I take a stand for my greatness.”

“My name is _____.  One thing I value in my life is myself.  I will show
this by not letting others tell me what to do.
Today I take a stand for my
greatness.”

“My name is _____.  One thing I value in my life is passing the TAKS.  I
will show this by studying everyday until the day of the test.  C’mon gimme
that test!
Today I take a stand for my greatness.”

From a teacher with tears in her eyes. “My name is _____.  One thing I value
in my life is my family.  I will show this by giving more time to them and
not always being at school.
Today I take a stand for my greatness.”

Just reviewing these highlights gives me the chills.  Thank you and to
everyone else that worked so hard to make this week such a life-changing
experience for these students. and for me.  We love what we do because we
get to work with teachers, staff and students like y’all.

–  Liesl Pykles

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

